• maitland35

MEDIA RELEASE: 2016 Women of the Year Awards

Jenny Aitchison, Member for Maitland, is pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2016 NSW Women of the Year Awards. The Awards recognise inspirational women who have made an outstanding contribution to NSW.

“The Women of the Year Awards are a fantastic opportunity for the Maitland community to get behind the inspirational women in our lives and nominate them for an award,” says Ms Aitchison.

“I was delighted to hear from some talented young students at Maitland High School recently about the importance of having good role models in their lives and how inspirational women have influenced and supported them,” says Ms Aitchison.

There are five state-wide awards and the local MPs award (for members of the Legislative Assembly). I encourage you to nominate an inspirational woman for an award in one of five state-wide categories:

  • The Premier’s Award recognises NSW women who have excelled in their chosen career, field or passion. They are exceptional achievers who have made a significant contribution to NSW and whose accomplishments make them a strong role model for other women.

  • The A.H. Beard Community Hero Award celebrates heroes and/or volunteers who have made outstanding contributions to the community. They are positive role models who inspire others to contribute to the community too.

  • Harvey Norman’s Young Woman of the Year Award celebrates women aged 18 to 30 years who have excelled in their career or made a significant contribution to their community.

  • Rex’s Regional Woman of the Year Award – celebrates women from regional NSW who have made significant achievements in areas that are important to regional or rural communities.

  • NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year Award - a new category which recognises Aboriginal women who have provided leadership in reconciliation and building cohesion in the community.

Nominations for the five state-wide awards can be made at www.women.nsw.gov.au and close on 13 January 2016 at 11.59pm. The winners will be announced at a reception hosted by the NSW Premier on Wednesday, 9 March 2016 at Parliament House.

To download the original release click here.

#mediarelease #jennyaitchison #womenoftheyearawards


Recent Posts

See All

Office address: 2/12 Elgin Street, Maitland NSW 2320 | Mail: PO Box 920, Maitland NSW 2320

Phone: 02 4933 1617 | Fax: 02 4933 4782 | Email: maitland@parliament.nsw.gov.au

Authorised by Jay Suvaal, Country Labor Party, 9/377 Sussex Street, Sydney NSW 2000

  • YouTube - White Circle